The University of Tennessee Campus Photos
A-Z Index  /  WebMail  /  Campus Directory
Environmental Semester banner graphic
   
     
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Hackett, Rosalind
Professor, Religious Studies
Instructor, The End of the World (Spring 2000); Co-Instructor: The Rhetoric of Human Rights of the Internet

Interest(s): Broadcast media.
Email: rhackett@utk.edu
URL: http://web.utk.edu/~rhackett/
Phone: (865) 974-6980
 
Tom Hallam
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Interest(s): The use of mathematical models to help solve problems in ecotoxicology and ecology.
Email: thallam@utk.edu
URL: http://eeb.bio.utk.edu/hallam.asp
Phone: (865) 974-4293
 
Hamlin, Phil
Professor, Philosophy

Interest(s): Philosophy and film, medical ethics, and philosophy of teaching.
Email: phamlin@utk.edu
URL: http://web.utk.edu/~philosop/hamlin.html
Phone: (865) 974-7212
 
Hanahan, Ruth Anne
Senior Research Associate, Energy, Environment, and Resources Center (EERC)

Interest(s): Water resources education and outreach activities. Adopt-A-Watershed, Adopt-A-Stream, stream soil biorestoration demonstration projects, and grassroots watershed initiatives. Water quality issues related to land use; volunteer monitoring.
Email: rhanahana@utk.edu
URL: http://eerc.ra.utk.edu/S-Hanahan.html
Phone: (865) 974-9124
 
Harden, Carol
Professor, Geography

Interest(s): Geomorphology, water resources, Latin America.
Email: charden@utk.edu
URL: http://web.utk.edu/~charden/
Phone: (865) 974-8357
 
Hardwig, John
Professor, Philosophy

Interest(s): Bioethics, especially end of life issues, consumerism, and eudemonistic ethics.
Email: Hardwig_John@bio.utk.edu
URL: http://web.utk.edu/~philosop/hardwig.html
Phone: (865) 974-3255
 
Harper, Craig
Associate Professor/Extension Wildlife Specialist, Department of Forestry, Wildlife, and Fisheries

Interest(s): 1) investigating field management techniques to enhance early successional habitat for bobwhites and other grassland bird species; 2) investigating techniques for implementing quality deer management programs; 3) investigating silvicultural practices and their role in managing habitat for ruffed grouse
Email: charper@utk.edu
URL: http://fwf.ag.utk.edu/personnel/charper.htm
Phone: (865) 974-7346
 
Harper, Janice
Assistant Professor, Anthropology

Interest(s): Environment and health.
Email: harper@utk.edu
URL: http://web.utk.edu/~anthrop/faculty/harper.html
Phone: (865) 974-2912
 
Harrell, Greg
Senior Research Associate, Energy, Environment, and Resources Center (EERC)
Collaborating Instructor, Art and Organism; Works in radio, film, regional and international theatre

Interest(s): Technical assistance and engineering support services, including industrial process energy assessments, specific process assessments, individual component analysis, and short course presentations
Email: harrellg@utk.edu
URL: http://eerc.ra.utk.edu/S-Harrell.html
Phone: (865) 974-4251
 
Harris, Frank
Associate Vice Chancellor, Office of Research

Interest(s): Radiation ecology.
Email: wharris4@utk.edu
URL:
Phone: (865) 974-3466
 
Hart, William
Associate Professor, Biosystems Engineering and Environmental Sciences
Instructor, "Agricultural Chemical Application Technology"

Interest(s): Power and machinery, Machinery systems, Chemical applications, Precision farming.
Email: whart@utk.edu
URL: http://bioengr.ag.utk.edu/personnel/show.asp?which=265
Phone: (865) 974-7266
 
Hastings, Chip
Professor, Sociology

Interest(s): Environmental sociology, sociology of sport, demography, sociology of religion.
Email: dhasting@utk.edu
URL: http://web.utk.edu/~dhasting/
Phone: (865) 974-7019
 
Hazari, Al
Lecturer, Chemisty
Instructor, "Chemistry and Society"

Interest(s):
Email: ahazari@utk.edu
URL:
Phone:
 
Herrmann, Nick
Research Assistant Professor, Archaeological Research Laboratory, Department of Anthropology

Interest(s): Human skeletal biology and mortuary practices reflected in human burial patterns.
Email: nherrmann@utk.edu
URL: http://web.utk.edu/~herrmann/
Phone:
 
Herzog, Henry
Professor, Economics

Interest(s): Regional and labor economics.
Email: hherzog@utk.edu
URL: http://econ.bus.utk.edu/herzog/herzog.html
Phone: (865) 974-1701
 
Hill, Kristy
Extention Dairy Specialist, Animal Science; Co-chair, Clean Water/Animal Waste Mgmt Priority Team

Interest(s):
Email: khill8@tennessee.edu
URL: http://animalscience.ag.utk.edu/faculty/hill.htm
Phone: (865) 974-7289
 
Hodges, Carolyn
Professor and Associate Dean, Modern Foreign Languages and Literatures

Interest(s):
Email: chodges@utk.edu
URL: http://web.utk.edu/~mfll/facultycv/hodges.rtf
Phone: (865) 974-4161
 
Hodges, Donald
Associate Professor, Forestry, Wildlife, and Fisheries; Faculty Associate, Energy, Environment, and Resources Center (EERC)

Interest(s): Center on valuation of market and nonmarket goods associated with forested ecosystems, land use change, public and private land management, and hardwood timber markets. Has also conducted research on the economic aspects of global climate change, site remediation technologies, and forest policy.
Email: dhodges2@utk.edu
URL: http://eerc.ra.utk.edu/S-Hodges.html
Phone: (865) 974-2706
 
Hoeyng, Peter
Asst. Professor, Modern Foreign Language & Literature

Interest(s): Goethe and Nature Literature.
Email: hoeyng@utk.edu
URL: http://web.utk.edu/~mfll/facultycv/hoeyng.html
Phone: (865) 974-7162
 
Hood, Tom
Professor of Sociology
Instructor, 20th Century Appalachia: Its Environment and Its Cultures; Recipient, University Studies Annual Award, 1997

Interest(s): Collective behavior and social movements, environmental sociology, theoretical social psychology.
Email: tomhood@utk.edu
URL:
Phone: (865) 974-7023
 
Hopper, George
Professor and Head, Forestry, Wildlife, Fisheries

Interest(s): Hardwood silviculture and biology of oaks. Also, currently involved in public policy education and procedures that lead to policy decisions.
Email: ghopper@utk.edu
URL: http://fwf.ag.utk.edu/personnel/ghopper.htm
Phone: (865) 974-7126
 
Horn, Sally
Professor, Geography

Interest(s): The impact of human activity and climatic change on the vegetation of the Latin American tropics.
Email: shorn@utk.edu
URL: http://web.utk.edu/~utkgeog/faculty/horn.htm
Phone: (865) 974-6030
 
Howell, Benita
Professor, Anthropology; Head, American Studies

Interest(s): Cultural Heritage Conservation and Tourism, Cultural Factors in Environmental Planning, Rural Development, Historical Ethnography and Folk Culture Studies of Southern Appalachia and the Cumberland Plateau.
Email: bhowell@utk.edu
URL: http://web.utk.edu/~anthrop/faculty/howell.html
Phone: (865) 974-4408
 
Hubbard, Joseph
UG (Political Science
Co-Chair of Issues Committee (CPC); Chair of Campus Beautification

Interest(s):
Email: chubbar2@utk.edu
URL:
Phone:
 
Huisingh, Don
Senior Research Leader, Energy, Environment and Resources Ctr; Professor, The Center for Clean Products and Clean Technologies

Interest(s): Convener, Sustainable Development Workshops for faculty. Research and education on pollution prevention, cleaner production, and industrial ecology; selecting and evaluating safer alternatives. Editor, J Cleaner Production. Representative to UN "Decade of Education for Sustainable Development."
Email: dhuising@utk.edu
URL: http://eerc.ra.utk.edu/S-Huisingh.html
Phone: (865) 974-3379
 
Hulsether, Mark
Religious Studies

Interest(s): Interplay between religion, culture, and politics in U.S. history, to conceptualize this interplay within the broadest set of cross-cultural and interdisciplinary perspectives.
Email: mhulseth@utk.edu
URL: http://web.utk.edu/%7Ehulseth/
Phone: (865) 974-2182